Category Archives: Lumpkin

Trail of Tears Meeting in Dahlonega

The next meeting of the Georgia Chapter of the Trail of Tears Association will be held on Saturday, March 14, 2015 at 10:30 AM at the University of North Georgia in Dahlonega, GA. The speaker will be GA TOTA board member Walter J. Knapp, instructor of Native American Culture and History at UNG. The topic will be “Successes and Challenges for Native Americans Today and in the Future”.

Please visit for directions to the university. The meeting will be held in the Adult Education building across from the main entrance to the campus between a pizza place and a Dairy Queen. The address is 82 College Circle Dr., Dahlonega, GA 30597.

The Trail of Tears Association was created to support the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail established by an act of Congress in 1987. The TOTA is dedicated to identifying and preserving sites associated with the removal of Native Americans from the Southeast. The Association consists of nine state chapters representing the nine states that the Cherokee, Creek and other tribes traveled through on their way to Indian Territory (now the state of Oklahoma).

Our meetings are free and open to the public. You need not have Native American ancestry to attend our meetings, just an interest and desire to learn more about this fascinating and tragic period in our country’s history. For more information about the TOTA, visit the National TOTA website at and the Georgia Chapter website at For questions about the March meeting, contact Tony Harris at


GAINESVILLE, Ga. – The Georgia Department of Transportation announces Awards of $359,782 to the Northeast Georgia Region from Georgia Transportation Enhancement (GATEway) Grants. Statewide $1,346,000 was awarded to 43 Local Government Entities.

The GATEway Grant Program assists communities in their efforts to beautify roadsides along state routes. The mission of the GATEway Grant Program is to provide funding for roadside enhancement and beautification projects along Georgia’s roadsides.

  • The City of Bowman in Elbert County received $40,026 for State Route 172.
  • Dawson County received $46,690 for State Route 400.
  • The City of Demorest in Habersham County received $26,030 State Route 365.
  • The City of Duluth in Gwinnett County received $50,000 for State Route 13.
  • The City of Gainesville in Hall County received $48,836 for I-985 at Exit 20.
  • Gwinnett Technical College in Lawrenceville received $50,000 for State Route 316.
  • Lumpkin County received $48,200 for State Route 400.
  • The City of Peachtree Corners received $50,000 for State Route 141.

The awards were made from applications submitted to Georgia DOT earlier this year. Funding for the grants comes from contributory value fees paid by outdoor advertising companies to the Department for vegetation removal at outdoor advertising signs.

The Georgia DOT Roadside Enhancement and Beautification Council will review the applications. Local government entities that are awarded a grant will be reimbursed for their costs for plant material and its installation for their enhancement projects at significant entrances on Georgia DOT rights of way – up to $ 50,000.00.  Funds are limited.  However, if a local government entity is not awarded a grant in the first round, its application might still be eligible for a second round of awards later in the year.

GATEway Grants are funded through the Georgia DOT GATEway Program by revenues from permits for Vegetation Management at Outdoor Advertising Signs.  The Program’s mission is to provide funding for roadside enhancement and assist communities in their efforts to beautify roadsides along Georgia’s state routes.

For additional information about GATEway Grants and print out applications at the GDOT GATEway Grant web site – .

The Georgia Department of Transportation is committed to providing a safe, seamless and sustainable transportation system that supports Georgia’s economy and is sensitive to both its citizens and its environment.  For more information on Georgia DOT, please visit or subscribe to our Press Release RSS feed.  You also may follow us on Facebook ( ) and Twitter (