Georgia State Leaders Named Clean Energy Champions

ATLANTA (October 9, 2018) – Conservatives for a Clean Energy Future (CCEF), a national nonprofit focused on state-based conservative clean energy efforts, today announced that Georgia Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black (R), Public Service Commissioner Chuck Eaton (R), Secretary of State Brian Kemp (R), Senator Butch Miller (R–Gainesville) and Representative David Ralston (R– Blue Ridge) have been recognized as 2018 Conservative Clean Energy Champions.

CCEF’S Conservative Clean Energy Champions are state and local policymakers across the country who have shown consistent and exceptional support for conservative policy initiatives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency.

“Commissioner Black, Commissioner Eaton, Secretary Kemp, Senator Miller and Representative Ralston are strong conservative leaders dedicated to paving the way for a clean energy future,” said Mark Pischea, president of CCEF. “These Champions have been vocal supporters of conservative energy policy solutions that emphasize clean, renewable energy and energy waste reduction. It’s policies like these that help spark true innovation, create jobs, protect ratepayers and grow the economy in states like Georgia.”

These Champions are recognized for their support of free market policy solutions that seek to diversify the state’s energy production and secure affordable, reliable, clean and efficient energy for Georgia ratepayers. Most recently, Agriculture Commissioner Black has advocated for biomass energy, noting its role in supporting the agricultural economy in the state. At the Public Service Commission, Eaton voted to expand renewable energy and has supported energy efficiency, solar and electric vehicle development. Senator Miller has been an advocate for Georgia ratepayers throughout the expansion of nuclear in the state, while Secretary Kemp and Representative Ralston have supported smart solutions to conserve Georgia’s natural resources and environment throughout their time in office.

CCEF has recognized 44 Champions across 14 states. To learn more about the 2018 Conservative Clean Energy Champions, visit

Chattahoochee Tech Honors Cobb County Couple for 15 Years of Helping Students through Memorial Golf Tournament

(Acworth, Ga. – Oct. 9, 2018) Chattahoochee Technical College honored Alan and Claire Peterson, of Cobb County, as the college’s 2018 Volunteer of the Year on Monday, Oct. 8, at the 15th annual Mike Peterson Memorial Golf Tournament to thank them for their many years of dedicated service in raising over $146,000 through this annual event to benefit Chattahoochee Tech students.

Chattahoochee Technical College honored Alan and Claire Peterson
Chattahoochee Technical College honored Alan and Claire Peterson as the college’s 2018 Volunteer of the Year at the recent 15th annual Mike Peterson Memorial Golf Tournament. At this event, l-r, are Susan Stephens, Chattahoochee Tech Foundation Board of Trustees member, Claire Peterson, Alan Peterson, and Chattahoochee Technical College President Dr. Ron Newcomb.

As a token of the college’s appreciation, Chattahoochee Technical College President Dr. Ron Newcomb presented the Petersons with a glass sculpture at Cartersville Country Club, the site of this year’s tournament. The Petersons have organized a memorial golf tournament every fall since 2003 to celebrate the life of their son, Mike Peterson, an automotive enthusiast who passed away in 2002. All proceeds from the memorial golf tournaments have been donated to the Chattahoochee Tech Foundation in order to fund tool sets, each worth thousands of dollars, for Chattahoochee Technical College students in the Automotive Technology, Diesel Equipment Technology and Automotive Collision Repair programs.

“Alan and Claire Peterson’s steadfast commitment for so many years has been truly inspiring,” said Dr. Newcomb. “We are sincerely grateful for their impressive work to make a difference in the lives of Chattahoochee Tech students. Their support and dedication has succeeded in changing lives.”

The Chattahoochee Tech Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization that supports the college by working diligently to help make higher education an affordable reality for students at Chattahoochee Technical College.

For more information, visit

Deal Declares State of Emergency Ahead of Hurricane Michael

Based on the latest forecast for Hurricane Michael and acting on a recommendation from Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMA/HS) officials, Gov. Nathan Deal today issued an emergency declaration for 92 Georgia counties. The emergency declaration is effective for seven days and makes all state resources available to local governments and entities within the impacted area of the hurricane.

“The state is mobilizing all available resources to ensure public safety ahead of Hurricane Michael,” said Deal. “In light of the storm’s forecasted track, I encourage Georgians in the affected counties to be prepared and remain vigilant. We will continue to monitor Hurricane Michael’s path and GEMA/HS is leading our preparedness efforts. We are also working with federal, state and local officials to provide public shelter and accommodate those evacuating from other states. I ask all Georgians to join me in praying for the safety of our people and all those in the path of Hurricane Michael.”

The 92 counties under emergency declaration are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Baldwin, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Calhoun, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Glynn, Grady, Hancock, Houston, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, McIntosh, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Muscogee, Peach, Pierce, Pulaski, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Schley, Screven, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Turner, Twiggs, Upson, Ware, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, Wilkinson and Worth counties.

To read the executive order, see attached or click here. A map of the counties under emergency declaration is also attached.

For more information on hurricane preparedness, visit the GEMA/HS website here.